Best player in the CHL, Lafrenière mimics Crosby

The Quebecers Alexis Lafrenière became, on Wednesday, only the second athlete to win the title of mvp of the canadian hockey League (CHL) during two consecutive seasons after Sidney Crosby.

Lafrenière has scored 112 points in 52 games with the Océanic of Rimouski, in the League of the Quebec major junior hockey (QMJHL), to put the hand on the David price-Branch.

His average of 2.15 points per game is the best in the junior circuit in canada since that Connor McDavid earned 2.5 points per game with the Otters to Erie in 2014-2015.

“It is truly an honour to win the award David Branch as the outstanding player in the CHL, said Lafrenière, by way of a press release. I would like to thank my teammates, my coaches and the entire organization to Rimouski for everything they have done for me. I would not have made it so far without them.”

In the first rank among skaters in north american in the list published by the Central recruitment of the national hockey League (NHL), Lafrenière should be the first player selected at the upcoming draft.

The hope of the Wild of Minnesota Adam Beckman, of the Chiefs of the Spokane of the Western League (WHL), and Marco Rossi, the Ottawa 67’s of the League of Ontario (OHL), were also in the running for the title of mvp of the CHL.

Domination of Quebec

The price David-Branch was handed to a representative of the QMJHL for a third consecutive year, since Alex Barré-Boulet, who wore the colors of the Armada de Blainville-Boisbriand, had prevailed at the end of the season 2017-2018.

It speaks precisely of five awards in eight years for hockey players from quebec, considering that the honour had been awarded to Anthony Mantha in 2014, and the current player of the Montreal canadiens Jonathan Drouin in 2013.

Recent recipients of the award David-Branch

2020 – Alexis Lafrenière (Rimouski)
2019 – Alexis Lafrenière (Rimouski)
2018 – Alex Barré-Boulet (Blainville-Boisbriand)
2017 – Alex DeBrincat (Erie)
2016 – Mitch Marner (London)
2015 – Connor McDavid (Erie)
2014 – Anthony Mantha (Val-d’or)
2013 – Jonathan Drouin (Halifax)
2012 – Brendan Shinnimin (Tri-City)
2011 – Ryan Ellis (Windsor)
2010 – Jordan Eberle (Regina)
2009 – Cody Hodgson (Brampton)
2008 – Justin Azevedo (Kitchener)
2007 – John Tavares (Oshawa)
2006 – Alexander Radulov (Quebec)
2005 – Sidney Crosby (Rimouski)
2004 – Sidney Crosby (Rimouski)

Share Button