“Eurasian eight”: how important is the format of the SCO


In Kyrgyzstan summit of the Shanghai cooperation organization. The meeting was attended by the leaders of the eight countries of the SCO. The key theme of the summit – combating separatism, terrorism and extremism. The agenda of the SCO’s security and economic development of the participating countries. The summit adopted the Bishkek Declaration on the further development of the SCO’s activities. The leaders endorsed the “road map” on settlement of situation in Afghanistan. All were signed more than 20 documents. At the summit in Bishkek the SCO chairmanship passed to Russia. The next summit will be held in Chelyabinsk in July 2020.

The Shanghai cooperation organization was created on 15 June 2001 in Shanghai. Now the Alliance consists of 8 States parties: Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, China, India and Pakistan. Observer status are Afghanistan, Belarus, Iran and Mongolia. Dialogue partners – Armenia, Azerbaijan, Cambodia, Nepal, Turkey, Sri Lanka. The total area of the SCO member countries – more than 34 million square kilometers – 60% of Eurasia. In the countries-SCO members live more than 3 billion people – half the population of the planet. The countries of the organization accounts for a fifth of world GDP – about $17 trillion

How important is this format, the TV channel “MIR 24” said political analyst Dmitri Yuriev. Interview see the video.